1. There is no such thing as a "pending" ban or Steam admin. Anyone threatening your account is a scammer trying to scare you. Read more.

4-pack trade thing. (How to trade with collateral)

Discussion in 'SteamRep General Discussion' started by WhiteWeasel, Jun 25, 2014.

1. WhiteWeasel

WhiteWeasel New User

Steam:
    STEAM_0:0:43681123
    Alright here is my issue. I want to get space engineers, but I don't want to use up all my steam money to get it as there are other things on my wishlist. While learning about the game a guy offers me on the space engineer forum that he wants to get a 4 pack of SE and gift one of the copys of it to me for $14 in exchange. So i'm new to trading and I'm naturally paranoid so I'm a little skeptical.

The way he proposed doing it: (He refers to Notably Dangerous Festive Holy Mackerel as fish.)

2. Wasabi Kitty

Wasabi Kitty New User

Steam:
    STEAM_0:1:42522834
    That sounds pretty fishy, I wouldn't give him anything until I had received the game copy.

What's to say you won't have you buy his crate for $7 and then remove you and ignore you?
  3. SilentReaper(SR)

SilentReaper(SR) Retired Staff

SteamRep Admin:
    STEAM_0:0:89705646
    nope. Any "scheme" with partials making "trust" doesn't work. What DOES work:

- Use a MM to trade a item or items for paypal (say you buy his Bills hat and a key or 2 or w/e valuable).
    - Then he buys with the money the game.
    - You trade the game vs the bills + keys you bought.
  4. WhiteWeasel

WhiteWeasel New User

Steam:
    I do not have a paypal account, can it be done with steam wallet money?
  5. SilentReaper(SR)

SteamRep Admin:
    hmm, could, but it is problematic. for the above proposal is to get items up to value of the money spend. To make sure you buy the correct item you will have to overpay for such item to make other ppl not buy those items.
    That means you lose money on it.