1. SteamRep is shutting down at the end of 2024. See announcement.

Accepted Report: 76561198074907105 - (< blank > / [TF2] Team Fortress 2 Items)

Discussion in 'Archived Reports' started by [-=PT=-] Darth Mousemat, Jan 21, 2014.

1. [-=PT=-] Darth Mousemat

[-=PT=-] Darth Mousemat New User

Steam:
    STEAM_0:0:39782316
    Scam Report

Report Type: [Money] PayPal scam or scam attempt
    Virtual item type involved: [TF2] Team Fortress 2 Items

Accused profile: 76561198074907105 (< blank >)

Victim profile: 76561198039830360

What happened? Description:
    I believe that this member attempted to scam me out of an Unusual Familiar Fez w/ Stormy Storms via a paypal trade. He added me earlier and we agreed that we'd trade the item for $80 via Paypal. I'm new to paypal trading so I was overally cautious anyway. The chat is posted below, but basically The user said he knew a paypal employee in real life, which was the first thing I found odd. I was then told to wait for a confirmation email from this "friend". The email came through, in my spam box. It was not an official paypal email address, so again. I was cautious. The email is posted below as evidence. He also said the money would not go through immediately but would be "tested to see if it is legit". I kept refusing to let go of the item until I had an official confirmation of transaction from Paypal to ensure the money had one through. <blank> became more irate and sent me a snippet of his paypal(also posted below), however I did not receive any emails from paypal saying that any activity was going on. I also do not recall transactions not being immediate in their processing or being tested for legitimacy. As can be seen in the chat below, I called him out a couple of times. He kept saying he wasn't scamming, but everything points to it. I'm not sure what position this puts me in, as I would have completed the trade had I received any official transaction emails, But i didn't, so I stood my ground.​