1. There is no such thing as a "pending" ban or Steam admin. Anyone threatening your account is a scammer trying to scare you. Read more.

Question about middlemen

Discussion in 'Discussion Archive' started by King tut, Feb 1, 2013.

1. King tut

King tut New User

Steam:
    STEAM_0:0:40401014
    Ladies and gentlemen.
    Hello, this is my first time cashing out in real money and not as usual in games.

So i have a question; Can a trusted middleman hold the money?

Currently i have no paypal account, but soon (hopefully!) i will have a middleman who will take that paypal then give the cash to me (IRL).

So in the meantime is it appropriate to ask the middleman to hold onto that $$ for a while?

Thank you.
    (and hopefully i posted in the right place)
  2. Nobel

Nobel New User

Steam:
    STEAM_0:0:42192766
    I'm pretty sure the MM never holds the money.

Try and give this a read - http://forums.steamrep.com/threads/middleman-trade-howto.16603/#post-66155

If you have ANY questions or concerns, please research or ask BEFORE you trade/contact an official MM.
  3. DataStorm

DataStorm Retired Staff

In some rare cases MM's hold the money, altho this is not how its intended. As you don't tell who your "money holder" is, you might need 2 MM's to complete such trades: 1 to hold the items and pass forward to the buyer once its paid, and 1 you trust to receive the money.

As this is making stuff "complicated" please work with ppl really trusted. If things go haywire its a big mess (4 party trade... :S).
  4. King tut

King tut New User

Steam:
    Yeah i know that's an unorthodox way of doing it but is there any other way? not sure.
    I know it's not intended to be that way, but there is two gaps here, i don't have a paypal and the seller does, and the other middleman who will take paypal and give me cash (in real life) can't be put in between the trade.