1. There is no such thing as a "pending" ban or Steam admin. Anyone threatening your account is a scammer trying to scare you. Read more.

Please please help me understand...

Discussion in 'Discussion Archive' started by Blinkerz, Jun 23, 2012.

1. Blinkerz

Blinkerz New User

Steam:
    STEAM_0:0:36974
    Im pretty new to all this steamrep etc.. and never had a problem up to now.. but i use a scrapbankbot to get rid of my standard weapons. I did a recent invite to trade and got this recently..

'You are reported as a scammer on SteamRep.com and I will therefore not trade with you.'

Is my steamrep account okay.. i cant see any problems.. Please help me:(

Or is the bot broken.
  2. Mattie!

Mattie! SteamRep Admin

SteamRep Admin:
    STEAM_0:0:5712733
    Your account is just fine. The scrap bankbot might have run into an error with the website. I doubt it uses our API properly.
    Xel'Naga likes this.
  3. Champelliot

Champelliot New User

Steam:
    STEAM_0:1:36236835
    As Mattie said, the bot probably was using the API incorrectly, many bots will check your Steam ID 32/64 against Steamrep, as it is a SR offense to trade with marked scammers. It might be as a simple as they used to wrong ID. However, as can be seen on your Steamrep profile (which you can access by searching your Steam 32/64 ID or Custom URL on the homepage) that you have 'no special reputation', this is the usual for non scammers and non middlemen. It basically means that there is nothing negative to report.

The bot was incorrect, and you are correct, there are no problems. Don't worry however, SR is completely unaffiliated with Valve, so even if there 'was' a mistake (which there never will be) your actual account will bear no implications, Steamrep is exactly what it's name states, a reputation database, nothing more.

tl;dr: Bot is broken.
  4. vlees

vlees New User

Steam:
    STEAM_0:0:18243575
    As pointed out to Blinkerz in Steam Chat: